Alexander String Quartet to Perform Patagón for the Morrison Artists Series

Alexander String QuartetFriday, December 7th, Alexander String Quartet presents Cindy Cox’s Patagón along with the Mozart Quartet in F Major, and the Schubert “Death and the Maiden” Quartet in D Minor as a part of the Morrison Artists Series at San Francisco State University:

SF State’s longtime quartet-in-residence has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles over three decades. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart and Shostakovich, the Alexander String Quartet has also established itself as an important advocate of new music through more than 25 commissions and numerous premiere performances. The quartet is also ensemble-in-residence at San Francisco Performances. Mozart, Cox, Schubert.

We expect a large crowd for the concert and recommend you arrive by 7:30pm. To ensure you are guaranteed a seat, please pick up your free ticket from the box office outside McKenna Theatre when you arrive for the 7pm pre-concert talk or 8pm concert.

You are also invited to observe a master class with the Alexander String Quartet and Crowden School students at 2pm.

The Morrison Chamber Music Center, is funded, in part, by a generous gift from the May Treat Morrison Chamber Music Foundation.

Friday December 7, 2012 – 8:00 pm
Morrison Artists Series
San Francisco State University
McKenna Theatre
San Francisco, California

Mozart Quartet in F Major, KV 590
Cindy Cox Patagón (2011)
Schubert Quartet in D Minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s